top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureChong Kim

Good Doctor & Extraordinary Attorney Woo


My name is Chong Kim and I am living with Chronic Illness and Dystonia.


I'm here to share my thoughts on these two types of shows and my views are coming from a Disabled Person (which I am) and someone who's lived with a child w/ Autism spectrum. I had opened my home to a mother with a child who has Autism Spectrum for over 2 years. I'm also an activist on social issues including person with disability. I've watched both series of The Good Doctor, both S. Korean and USA versions and I've recently watched Extraordinary Attorney Woo the K-drama version. I'm very much aware that the public gave both these series a great review and was very well acclaimed. Here are my praises; I'm grateful for the awareness on Autism Spectrum, however sensationalizing it can cause a misunderstanding or a misinterpretation of persons who are living with Autism. You may assume that I'm being harsh and maybe I am.


Living with any disability comes with it own challenges; I've been born with a congenital defect that is causing multiple health issues and it is ongoing. I have limited mobility, I have osteoarthritis and have been recently diagnosed with Cervical Dystonia which is a muscle spasm. I will be the first to share I have never been diagnosed with Autism or Asperger, but I have spent many opportunities being around a person whether adult, child or a toddler with Autism and each individual I met all have a different spectrum. I remember back in early 2002, Stephen King did a mini-series called 'Rose Red', it was about an old haunted mansion and one of the characters was autistic in the show, she was mute most of the time until she saw something traumatizing and then she screamed, but by looking at her you couldn't tell she had Autism. Kimberly J. Brown played Annie Wheaton as the 15 year old teenage girl with Autism in Rose Red, when she was introduced to Autism she has been a huge advocate and activist on Autism, so I give her many praises. She's appeared on several YouTube podcast that are hosted by Autistic Person and I think that is amazing. https://youtu.be/MQTk0SSKemQ



One of my concerns when it comes to filming whether it is a series, feature, independent whatever the platform maybe, when you are a creative producer for any social issues or causes I believe you should expand your research outside of academically learning about any issues/causes but meet the people who are most affected by it. One of my biggest disappointment in both The Good Doctor & Extraordinary Attorney Woo is that the producers along with the lead actor/actress had no interest in interacting with any person who is living with Autism, yet both the creative producers and the actor/actress have said they didn't want to offend anyone, well . . . I've watched and read a lot of reviews from person living with Autism and they were mixed reviews, but here's a link from a Korean Autistic person who gave a concerning feedback regarding the show: https://www.sportskeeda.com/pop-culture/news-tiktoker-calls-extraordinary-attorney-woo-s-problematic-korean-title Another thing that also disappointed me in the actress, Eun-bin Park is that she said even though she did her research (without engaging with anyone who had Autism) she decided to create her own version of an Autistic character. https://youtu.be/0IGasR4mAOU You can call me sensitive, but in my opinion I find that very insulting. After watching her interview regarding her made up character and her version of how the character should be, I lost all interest in watching the continued episodes. Same for Freddie Hightower, he was engaged with a consultant for Autism and never engaged with anyone with Autism while preparing for his role.


The other concern I had about most of the K-dramas involving crime shows that were on Netflix the discrimination and sexism along with domestic violence that has been shown but never addressed as a violation, only as a "it is what it is" type of issue in their crime shows, which is also disappointing in itself. The series, 'Juvenile Justice' which is available on Netflix is based on a true accounts, also displayed violence of youth, bullying, trafficking and yet they called the victims 'prostitutes' when these kids are minors were very upsetting to me. All I want to do is bring adequate research, education and awareness when we are utilizing social issues. I am aware that some areas need to be sensationalize for marketing and entertainment purposes, but be mindful that you are also bringing in the correct information in the right categories. I am in the works of creating a drama series about Human Trafficking. I have made plans to bring on activists, survivors and persons with disability on my set to be hired as consultants for my show. I will not allow Hollywood or the Network to ignore that factor. I am also a writer, storyteller and a producer and I feel we need to change the way we bring awareness, otherwise in my professional opinion, if you're going to fake anything, then don't do it at all. It's a disservice for those of us who are living with that social cause/issue. These opinions are my opinions alone.


Always,

Me



138 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page